Camperdown Commons is extremely proud to be partnering with Newtown Neighbourhood Centre on the NNC Festival Series for 2018.

 

Newtown Neighbourhood Centre is located in the heart of Newtown, and the team there look tirelessly by

providing frontline services for those doing it tough in the Inner West.

 

The NNC Festival Series is the lead up to Newtown Neighbourhood Centre’s biggest fundraising event for the year- Newtown Festival on the 11 November. The Festival Series has over 20 events on offer from September through to Novemner, with something for everyone- kids’ workshops, intimate gigs, street art, lawn bowls, an open-air cinema, story sessions, fun workshops and lessons in sustainability.

 

Just by attending one of the NNC Festival Series events being held at Camperdown Commons,

you are making a big difference by contributing to social change and promoting community connectedness.

PLAYGROUP NSW Every Tuesday, 10-12pm, and 12.30-2.30pm

PLAYGROUP NSW

Playgroup is for all children who are not old enough to attend primary school. They can be accompanied by mothers, fathers, grandparents, nannies or other carers. Playgroup NSW affiliated playgroups are inclusive, providing welcoming supportive environments for all families to come together regardless of cultural, social or economic backgrounds.

Bring your child or children along, and meet some new friends. No bookings required, please look at www.playgroupnsw.org.au


SILIVIA COLLOCA Thursday, 27 September 2018, 6:30 PM Book
now

SILIVIA COLLOCA

$5

BETTER READ THAN DEAD

 

For passionate home-cook and baker Silvia Colloca there is nothing more satisfying than baking - combining the simplest of ingredients and seeing them transformed into the most delicious creations to share with others.
Join Silvia Colloca for an evening celebrating the release of her latest cookbook Love, Laugh, Bake! You can also join her for a two-course dinner (mains and dessert), catered by Acre Eatery, after the talk.


EXPRESSIVE WATERCOLOUR FLORALS Sunday, 30 September 2018, 6:00 PM Book
now

EXPRESSIVE WATERCOLOUR FLORALS

$75

CRAFT ON COMMONS

 

Learn to paint vibrant impressionistic and expressive flowers in watercolour paint in our collaboration with Work-shop- this class aims to help you focus on a more loose and fluid approach in painting botanicals; with emphasis on the freedom to use water, colour and your imagination. In this class, you’ll spend a lovely couple of hours painting them in a lovely, loose, dreamy style.
You’ll also learn the concepts of brush strokes, composition, and simple impressionist floral drawing and watercolor painting applications to achieve a dreamy and vibrant effect on your final artworks.


THE KNITTERS GUILD Every third Thursday of the month, 11.00am - 1.00pm

THE KNITTERS GUILD

Meeting monthly in the Common Room

 

The Knitters’ Guild NSW was founded more than thirty years ago, with the purpose of promoting and encouraging the skills of knitting and crochet amongst its members and the wider community. The Inner West group are a small friendly group of knitters and crocheters who love sharing their works in progress, learning new techniques and welcome new members. No booking necessary, please come down and join us on the day.

 

If you have any questions, please contact the Inner West group: Convenor Mary-Helen Ward


THE ORGANIC VEGGIE GARDEN Saturday, 13 October 2018, 10:00 AM Book
now

THE ORGANIC VEGGIE GARDEN

$75

PRESENTED BY NEWTOWN FESTIVAL & CAMPERDOWN COMMONS

Pocket City Farms will teach you the skills to design, set up and maintain your own organic small space garden regardless of space or experience. Learn how to create and maintain healthy organic soil, understand the needs of plants, and how to work them into a space together to create a productive edible garden.

Supporting the Newtown Neighbourhood Centre funding frontline services for those doing it tough in the Inner West


INTRO TO BRUSH LETTERING Sunday, 14 October 2018, 6:00 PM Book
now

INTRO TO BRUSH LETTERING

$85

PRESENTED BY NEWTOWN FESTIVAL & WORK-SHOP

Alena will teach you the key skills you need to be confident in pursing your passion in Hand Lettering. This course is for beginners, but anyone is welcome. You will leave the workshop with confidence, key skills of lettering & your own brush pens and worksheet!

Supporting the Newtown Neighbourhood Centre funding frontline services for those doing it tough in the Inner West

RESIN JEWELLERY Sunday, 21 October 2018, 6:00 PM Book
now

RESIN JEWELLERY

$130

CRAFT ON COMMONS

 

In our collaboration with Work-shop, this hands on workshop will teach you various techniques to create your own colourful resin jewellery. You will design and create two resin bangles and two resin rings. Learn how to mix resin, add colour pigment and finish your jewellery pieces. You will have the opportunity to make two resin bangles and two resin rings that will be ready for you to take home on the day.


JANE HARPER Wednesday, 24 October 2018, 6:30 PM Book
now

JANE HARPER

$5

BETTER READ THAN DEAD

 

Three brothers, one death, a fenceline stretching to the horizon. For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape. Join Jane Harper for an author talk at Camperdown Commons to celebrate the release of The Lost Man. You can then choose to join her for a two-course dinner, catered by Acre Eatery.


BACKYARD NATURAL DYEING Saturday, 27 October 2018, 10:00 AM Book
now

BACKYARD NATURAL DYEING

$120

PRESENTED BY NEWTOWN FESTIVAL & CAMPERDOWN COMMONS
In this hands-on workshop with Pocket City Farms you will explore a variety of natural hand dyeing and colour application techniques and create your own fabulous colours on fabric using natural methods and materials. No previous design or printing experience required.
Supporting the Newtown Neighbourhood Centre funding frontline services for those doing it tough in the Inner West

FIONA WRIGHT Thursday, 01 November 2018, 6:30 PM Book
now

FIONA WRIGHT

$5

BETTER READ THAN DEAD

 

Our bodies and homes are our shelters, each one intimately a part of the other. But what about those who feel anxious, uncomfortable, unsettled within these havens? Join Fiona Wright for the launch of The World Was Whole, the follow-up to her award-winning essay collection Small Acts of Disappearance. Ticket is free when you pre-order a book. Drinks and nibblies will be available for purchase on the night from Acre Eatery.


HANDMADE PERSIAN FELT ANIMALS Sunday, 04 November 2018, 6:00 PM Book
now

HANDMADE PERSIAN FELT ANIMALS

$50

PRESENTED BY NEWTOWN FESTIVAL & WORK-SHOP

Share some traditional Persian tea while artist Hilin teaches the tricks and techniques to make your very own toy felt animals, a craft hailing all the way from the artist’s home country of Iran.  Students will have the opportunity to take home their own handmade felt animal crafted during the workshop.

Supporting the Newtown Neighbourhood Centre funding frontline services for those doing it tough in the Inner West


DREAMY LANDSCAPES IN WATERCOLOUR Sunday, 11 November 2018, 6:00 PM Book
now

DREAMY LANDSCAPES IN WATERCOLOUR

$80

CRAFT ON COMMONS

 

In our collaboration with Work-shop, learn to paint vibrant impressionistic and abstract landscapes in watercolor. This class aims to help you focus on a more loose and fluid approach in painting; with emphasis on the freedom to use water, color and your imagination. This will help bring out your own creativity in painting expressive and suggestive pieces from realistic references.
Open to absolute beginners or experienced watercolour painters.


PET PORTRAIT ILLUSTRATION Sunday, 18 November 2018, 6:00 PM Book
now

PET PORTRAIT ILLUSTRATION

$55

CRAFT ON COMMONS

 

Whether you have your own beloved fur/feather baby, or simply love a good pupper account on Instagram, come and join in the pet portrait fun! Anyone can draw. In our collaboration with Work-shop, Sydney artist and illustrator Carmen Hui will guide you through the different stages of starting an original pet portrait using coloured pencils with a limited colour palette.
By the end of the workshop each student will be able to take home their very own custom pet portrait and a new found interest in pencil drawing.


CANDLE MAKING WITH ARCANDLES Sunday, 02 December 2018, 6:00 PM Book
now

CANDLE MAKING WITH ARCANDLES

$130

CRAFT ON COMMONS

 

In our collaboration with Work-shop, you’ll learn a range of basic candle making techniques with Louise Ho of Sydney label Arcandles, best known for their elegant but modern and awesome-smelling candles!
Learn everything from what types of wax to use to how to make your own unique fragrances and colours. And the best part of all – you get to take home everything you make on the day!


INTRODUCTION TO BRUSH LETTERING Sunday, 09 December 2018, 6:00 PM Book
now

INTRODUCTION TO BRUSH LETTERING

$85

CRAFT ON COMMONS

 

In our collaboration with Work-shop, Alena will teach you the key skills you need to be confident in pursing your passion in Hand Lettering. This course is for beginners, but anyone is welcome. The course will begin with the warm up drills you need to practice before any lettering project. These drills introduce you to the pressures and strokes of the brush pen.
At the end of the class, you will be confident to write your own favourite quote!
You will leave the workshop with confidence, key skills of lettering & your own brush pens and worksheet!

 

POCKET CITY FARMS WORKSHOPS

 

 

Pocket City Farms is a productive hub the local community can gather to learn about all things farming and food growing, buy local produce grown with organic principles, participate in the volunteer program, and take part in many workshops and events.

In the surrounds of their productive green space in the city Pocket City Farms run regular workshops across a range of sustainable lifestyle topics from growing food in small spaces to native stingless beekeeping, and wooden spoon carving to natural indigo dyeing.

They hold monthly crop swaps with Crop Swap Sydney for trading home harvests, as well as weekly volunteer sessions enabling you to dig your hands in the soil and learn food growing skills direct from the farmer. Meanwhile you can also take a yoga class outdoors overlooking the farm, or bring the kids along for a Little Farmers session.

The produce from their ecological market garden is available each week at the Pocket City Farm Store, along with other goods from local producers, including organic sourdough and local tea.

 

SEE WHATS ON AT POCKET CITY FARMS

 

Camperdown Project
An initiative of Canterbury-Hurlstone Park RSL Club
Canterbury-Hurlstone Park RSL Club